EU officially recognizes Vermouth di Torino designation

According to a report published the Italian national daily La Repubblica, the European Union has recognized “Vermouth di Torino” as an official EU designation.

The announcement of the new designation came last week as the recently formed Consorzio del Vermouth di Torino (the consortium of Vermouth di Torino producers) was holding a festival in Turin (Torino) celebrating the legacy of aromatized wines there.

While the designation had already been approved by the Italian ministry of agriculture in 2017, it has taken two years for the Italian government’s counterparts in Brussels to take this historic and important step.

With the newly approved EU designation, Vermouth di Torino now joins a growing list of countries that have received or requested protected status for aromatized wines. According to the European Commission, these include Nürnberger Glühwein, Thüringer Glühwein, Samoborski bermet, and Vino Naranja del Condado de Huelva.

Official EU recognition is extremely significant because it provides legal protections for producers, importers, distributors, retailers, and consumers. With the designation’s approval, only authorized producers will be able to label their products as Vermouth (or Vermut) di Torino.

Historically, Turin (Torino in Italian) was an early center for the production of aromatized wines.

According to the Consorzio del Vermouth di Torino, which was founded earlier this year, “by 1840, there were already 30 producers of Vermouth and other [aromatized] liquors in Turin [Torino]. And there were 42 brandy and grappa-producing distilleries as well, not to mention others in the rest of Piedmont.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top